the family

the family and my brother's sign

We got another storm this week, an additional 30″ should make it a deep weekend in the mountains. I walked to work amidst large falling flakes but it’s suddenly sunny and things are looking good.

While wasting time this morning I found a video at Skier in the Midwest of people enjoying a bunch of new snow back in Michigan at Crystal Mountain. The personal highlight is that I think every shot is from my brother’s run, Teddy’s Turn! In the 15 years I skied at Crystal I think I only had 4-5 days that were ever this good, I can’t tell you people how rare Michigan powder really is, and to have that correspond with Teddy’s Turn (previously known as Back bowl) being open. Normally you’d have to put your season pass in jeopardy by poaching the run at night, and sneaking back to the Buck chair on the cross country trail and hope the lifties wouldn’t figure out what you were doing. I’d also like to mention that I’ve been listening to my cousins whine about the current lack of snow in the northwest for a month, hopefully this rubs a little salt in their wounds.

I’ve also uploaded some of Max’s POV footage from last weekend. It’s all pretty lame, but I think it demonstrates how hungover I was. When watching it now it looks really simple, but at the time my nerves were fried from the Consumer Direct Christmas party the night before. I was freaked out the whole time, and after hitting a couple trees lacked confidence. Watching Max cross the bridge reminds me how shady that seemed to me at the time. Notice the traffic jam I caused on the trail, which takes up the entire second half of the video. More proof that I suck at snowmachining.

More to come after the weekend, and then I’ll be hading the site over to Max for awhile, unless stuff comes up while I’m back in the mitten. I almost forgot, I will be covering the Teddy Knape Film Festival while I’m home.

