We got an incredibly late start today, leaving my house around noon, meeting up with Jimmy at Carrs, and then waiting for Ryan at the Tesoro.  We left Girdwood a little after 2, with 5 of us (all unemployed) and a dog riding in Jimmy’s early nineties ford taurus.  I thanked him for supporting my home state.  The pass was fairly empty, I heard a couple of snow machines but didn’t see any.  We parked under thick fog, but headed out for sunburst hoping the clouds only an inversion.  We broke out of the clouds near the top of the alders, and saw blue skies, 8 inches of new snow on a solid base, and a scant 3 tracks.  The skiing was great, smooth high speed surfing all the way down to the alders where it became a nasty rain crust.  It’s very exciting to see everything with such great easy skiing snow, we’ll just have to see how everything bonds together the next couple days.  I can’t say how happy I am to be able to ski every day again.  Right now i’m just wondering if I’d rather it clear up completely, or stay inverted, because as you can see bellow, skiing above the inversion is rather nice.

