Hunter, Walter and I got up to Hatcher today.  We decided on a whim -as we were about to take a right head for Turnagain- to turn left out of the neighborhood and head north.  We arrived to find sunny skies, and 8″ of new snow in the parking lot, except everything looked really wind affected, with deep ripples and scars across most aspects.  Despite the wind limiting our options, Hunter and I quickly found some cleaner looking ramps with quick easy access.  Being buffeted by the wind as we skinned over old snowmachine tracks, various forms of crust, ice, and pockets of deep light snow did not leave me expecting much from the ski.   Yet, after watching Hunter drop in to find it deep and light, I scored a long ramp of light powder, wiped into small drifts which kept me on my toes till the bottom. The perfect way (long high speed powder skiing) to get back after 3 days off.  We’re going to Chelatna Lake for the weekend with the snowmachines, possibly some skiing some new terrain, until then…

