I skied Corn biscuit with Hunter and Kieth today.  It was calm, with some high clouds and a bit of sun for visibility, but the snow was showing the effects of the previous night’s strong winds and was pretty variable.  It still made for some easy turns though.  Anyway, the only thing to really mention was the crowd.  I think I counted something like 20 people on Corn biscuit, and the rest of the parking lots in the pass looked to be overflowing as well.  I had been thinking that the masses would disperse once Alyeska opened, but that doesn’t seem to be the case.  Did the number of people in town with backcountry set ups double over the summer?  Friday I saw a skinning technique stranger then anything I’d imagined, with crazy inside out leg crossing and extra rotation at each turn.  Turnagain is beginning to resemble a Parisian petanque ground where the biggest draw is turning up to watch all the characters and freaks.  I don’t really know how I feel about this yet as I’ve never been the type to say “it’s great everyone is out enjoying the snow,” but I do really love freaks.

Anyway, on a completely unrelated random note, I found out at work that there is now a cat skiing operation running out of Nome, which definitely needs to be visited, even if it is owned by a sleazy ANCSA corporation.

