I’ve just gotten back to Grand Rapids after an excellent four days at Saw Kaw.  I’ll have more to post in the next couple of days, but so far all I’ve got is a little clip of skiing the Arcadia dunes on Thursday.  I’ve wanted to ski this face for as long as I can remember.  It’s always been appetizing, being only 10 minutes from our cabin, having scenic pullout the top and finishing on a tiny beach.  The snow conditions were variable, anywhere form a foot of light snow to frozen sand and  beach grass.  I tumbled twice on my first run (Alaska living has cost me the knack for skiing across gravel), but luckily my skis stayed on and I saved myself some dignity, despite ripping my pants.  After watching my cousin Brian come down on his feet I decided to stay closer to the trees where the snow was greatly improved.  It was great fun, and some tough skiing.

The wind really scours the big dune faces above Lake Michigan, which as I’ve mentioned before is a real shame, but I’m still  convinced that in the right conditions they would be incredible.

