Manitoba

Christmas is over.  Although Santa was very generous to me this year he left me with a cold.  However, this did not stop me from taking my fiance – Riley and my long time ski racing buddy Mike out for an easy ski.  Since Mike  grew up in Alaska and has since relocated to sunny so-cal hasn’t done much back country skiing and me being sick we kept it nice and easy.  After driving through turnagain and the weather looking unpredictable, we settled on some familiar tree skiing on the west side of Summit Lake and Fresno Ridge.  The 6-8 inches of 5% moisture content snow that had fallen over night had made for some fantastic blower powder skiing.  The winds aloft were high as you can see in the pictures but there was no wind down low.  Hopefully this next system will come through and be the answer to our snow prayers!

high cirrus clouds above fresno

