alaska skiing girdwoodFriday I was out in Eagle River with Graham to work on skis  and was surprised by the amount of snow on the surrounding peaks.  Tentative plans were made to go skiing on Sunday, but I had very little faith that things would actually work out.  However, Sunday turned out to be gorgeous, easily the nicest day in weeks, and Graham called early that morning to let me know he was on his way.  The parking lot at Crow Pass was packed, but we were the only skiers, and after a little over an hour of hiking, and some serious doubts as to if we’d find anything worth skiing, we eventually came around a corner to find the Jewel with covered with a healthy blanket of warm wet snow.  Getting some turns in under the sunshine was fantastic, it feels so so good to be skiing again.  A little video bellow, not really anything special, but I figured I might as well put something up to commemorate the beginning of a new year.

