image

As I was wasting away the morning in the library and realized I wasn’t really doing anything I decided to go out for a ski.  The plan was to ski something if Mt Heney (pictured above) via an approach (pictured bellow) I’d scouted the day prior. So I drove 3 minutes out whiteshed and embarked on what I expected to be a brushy couple of hours, but being in Cordova there was hardly any undergrowth and I was able to immediately skin from sea level into open snowy meadows. Skiing in October without fighting through alders remains a novel concept to me.

image

I was a bit surprised when my route dumped me in the appron of my goal, and the lookers left couloir was looking doable. I skinned up snow that’d lasted through the winter with a velvety 6 inch covering that’d been sheltered from the sun and wind and felt like excellent turning, especially when compared to the rocky breakable crust from the day before. Once I’d skinned up to a little  pass on the south shoulder of the peak the couloir (pictured bellow) was looking fantastic, but being solo, out of water, and without a firm grasp as too how long it’d take me to ski out, I opted for tracking up the snowfield I’d just skinned up with a couple laps.

image

2 good days thus far and I’m starting to get my head around the terrain options and the requisite hikes, but still have a lot to learn. My knee is feeling strong, even banged it into a log while skiing across some frozen grass yesterday without consequences so all is good. Lots of posts conning as winter is on and everything is new to me at this point.

image

