image

I”ve been drooling over the west face of Heney since I moved here, and after wussing out over a week ago, decided to take advantage of the sunny streak and get it checked off the still being developed local hit list.

image

It hasn’t snowed in a while so down low is very crusty. That said I was able to skin from sea level, the crust made for a quick approach, and as I started up the appron the snow changed to some easy skiing dust on crust (an acceptable condition pre veterans day). Booting the chute was easy, very little wallowing in sugar although the base was a little firm to get decent traction near the top. Took me 3 hours from the car till where I put on my skis.

The line skied great, better then I expected, and the lower appron was fantastic, my best turns of the year thus far. The crust made my exit easy too, gliding across the icy meadows I was back to the car before dark (despite not leaving home till noon). Feels really really good to ski some real terrain again.
image

