image

With a break in the extended series of snow and rain blowing through arrIvIng thursday, I headed up wolverine too see how the snow was sticking together. I was a little worried as I started out as the entirety of the furthest west of the north facing bowls was completely broken out just bellow the cliffs and propagated around to some east facing slopes as well.

image

I made my way up through some large trees along subridges then up some mellow, rocky, wind swept terrain above tree line untill I had too boot pack up a short ridge to the top.

image

I was enjoying the views of the low mid-winter mid-day sunlight when my phone started ringing, and out of character I fortunately decIded to answer. It was the police dispatcher complaining that my car wasnt far enough onto the shoulder and a tow truck had been called. So I clipped in, put my luckily unopened beer back in my bag and dropped into a short shot I’d spied on the way up. Despite the need to race to the bottom I snapped a quick shit of my turns.

image

I raced across the upper windcrust and bombed through the powder in the lower trees before finally snowplowing down the icey shoulder of the road to find my van untowed, but with the chief of police parked behind me waiting. Luckily I escaped with some advice to get my van further off the road (“you’re lucky we have such a diligent dispatcher”) after we had a breif discussion of the snow conditions. First time I’ve ever had a day in the backcountry cut short by the police, which although funny was upsetting me later yesterday evening as the snow was so fantastic I was craving a couple more laps.

image

