cordova alaska skiing

As the wet weather has persisted over the last two months it was seeming like it had been forever since I skied off the top of anything and over a year since I’d been on anything steep so I was starting to get a little anxious. Today the sun and the snow cooperated to put the drought behind me and allow for me to ski off the peak of Mt Eyak down to the road in Hippie Cove.

cordova alaska skiing

After a plesant lift ride and skin to the summit I was able to roll a large chunk of cornice down the entrance (pictured above) to my line (top picture) which aided my confidence in the snowpack greatly. The snow sluffed a bit but nothing unexpected, and skied like that perfect AK velvet from my dreams.

cordova alaska skiing

I hadn’t skied the line before and had to deal with a mandatory ice cliff I could of avoided but it just lead to a plesant pillowy section, so my one mistake was kind of a bonus to a stellar run. I took the skiers left side of the creek when skiing down and quickly found a trail, making the walk through the mossy woods down to the road actually kind of easy. A fantastic day, just have to hope the weather holds for tomorrow allowing me to check off some more stuff. I can’t get enough steep turns at this point in the winter.

