cordova alaska skiing

The skiing has been fantastic in Cordova since friday. Stable snow and sunshine with only occasional clouds. Sunday I’d planned on skiing the west face of Heney, but it was wrapped in clouds all day, so Leo and Ben took me up Wolverine, and taught me a good way around the nasty cornice above the main slide path. A fantastic lap with very smooth easy skiing snow.  I thought that run was it for the day, but I ended up lapping the chair at Mt. Eyak in the afternoon and taking another lap from the peak down to Hippy Cove at dusk after being asked by a friend to hike the ridge later that evening.

cordova alaska skiing

This mornings patchy clouds slowly turned into an inversion as Leo and I went up Bob Korn. We took the same route as we had earlier this winter, through the ravine and eventually booting up the face. The snow was beggining to show a little crust after the warm night Sunday, but it was still cold enough up high to ski fresh.

alaska skiing

The cloud layer was like mid run halo around the peak, so the run progressed from bright sunshine up top, through four or five cautious white out turns in the clouds, then finally great lower visability for speeding to the bottom.  I am feeling fantastic after a couple good days on skis. It amazes me how quick things can turn around.

alaska skiing

